Everybody Knows

You know how sometimes you listen to a song so much it becomes a part of your vocabulary? I don’t mean how every time you get buzzed you sing “I been drinking,” to anyone who will listen or how anytime you sneeze you say “I sneezed on the beat and the beat got sicker.”  Those are Beyonce songs and I think that is just part of the zeitgeist at this point.  I’m talking about the more obscure songs that you discover through the most random round around ways and totally remind you of a very specific time of your life and somehow through a running joke that went on a little too long or an exhaustive over infatuation on your part has resulted in you reciting lyrics from the song whenever the words are brought up in conversation.

That’s how I feel about Dustin Tavella‘s Everybody Knows (Douchebag).  I don’t think he’s very famous and I’m not sure if he ever had a another single or video after this jam from 2013.  I discovered it because I was looking for slower hip hop songs to bring into the dance class I teach.  It’s not as easy at it may sound because I also need to chose songs that aren’t too suggestive as the kids in the class are between 12 – 17 years old.

It’s a great song.  It has a great beat with finger snaps which are always easy for kids to follow and lots of room for both faster and slower dance moves. When I first brought this song to class a kid started showing us all these very cool breakdancing and robotic moves he could do with his hat.

When I hear the song I think of him and I think of what other moves we could incorporate into this song.  I probably have listened to it about 500 times in the last 10 months.  We still use it in our class, although we shortened it a bit.  I still have it in heavy rotation on my iPod. I have a google search for ‘Dustin Tavella dance choreography’ in case any professionals post any more routines to this song.  It’s safe to say this song is a part of my life.

So much so that whenever someone says “Everybody knows,” I can’t stop myself from singing “Your boyfriend is a douchebag,”  even though it has never made any sense in the context of the conversation at hand.  I always try and incorporate the lyric  “Do you think that you can handle the truth girl?”   and “Your momma told you so!”  into any conversation I’m having.  It’s often met with quizzical glances but most people who know me are used to me incorporating song and dance into my everyday conversations.  It’s practically become a one-sided comedy routine (in my opinion) whenever my boyfriend is focussed on something that I am not interested in and I want him to pay attention to me that I try to catch his eye by singing my favourite verse as loud and soulfully as I can muster.

He kisses you but he don’t mean it
And he don’t look into your eyes
And he don’t see the things I see girl
So somebody tell me why..

It rarely works but it always makes me laugh at least.  I’m not sure what it is about this song that struck such a chord with me.  It has a early 2000s throwback feel to it and a very simple message and a good beat and a pretty hilarious music video staring Danny Trejo.  But I don’t think it’s really any of that that has connected me to this song.  I know I’ll keep this on my iTunes or whatever is the next music listening platform forever, because it’s a part of me now.  It’s part of the class I teach and a part of my walks to work or to meet friends and a part of my conversations. I can’t imagine a time where hearing it won’t make me remember something funny or think of the dance routines we have for this song.  It’s a part of my life and everybody knows.

 

 

About preetybird

Just another run-of-the-mill mysterious microcosm of magic, music, merriment and malevolence.
This entry was posted in dance, pop, R&B Soul, rap and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

