The Lloyd Dobler Anthem: I Wanna Be Yours by the Arctic Monkeys

As a daydreamer and over-thinker, it’s pretty easy for me to get obsessed.  If I’ve met you I’ve probably thought about you naked, choreographed an interpretive dance routine for you or imagined punching you or all of the above.   “I Wanna Be Yours” by the Arctic Monkeys is a lazy, dreamy love song for the stalker within all of us.

If you like your coffee hot
Let me be your coffee pot
You call the shots babe
I just wanna be yours

Alex Turner’s voice is so monotone and the beat is so staccato that the whole song plays like a trance-like mantra that a guy with a set of binoculars and a secret web-cam set up in your bathroom would say to you just before he blew your brains out.  I love it:)

This song is based on the 1982 poem, “I Wanna Be Yours” by John Cooper Clarke  which the Arctic Monkeys learned in school.

This song makes me think of Lloyd Dobler, probably the greatest boyfriend ever portrayed, in one of the best films of all-time, Say Anything.  It’s about the relationship between Lloyd Dobler, an average student, and Diane Court, the valedictorian, immediately after their graduation from high school. The movie is filled with a million great quotes but there’s one scene in particular where he meets Diane’s father and the father is grilling him about what he will be doing with his life and he says:

What I really want to do with my life –what I want to do for a living – is I want to be with your daughter. I’m good at it.

All Alex mentions are physical or popular, everyday objects that everyone uses.  He doesn’t have a real relationship with of the object of his affection yet, although his feelings are obviously already very deep.

Let me be the portable heater
That you’ll get cold without
I wanna be your setting lotion
Hold your hair in deep devotion
At least as deep as the Pacific Ocean

Lloyd is infatuated with Diane Court but doesn’t know much about her until they start dating. Maybe it’s his youthful exuberance or maybe it’s his personality but he knows that they could be great loves.

Maybe I just wanna be yours
I wanna be yours
I wanna be yours

What makes “I Wanna Be Yours” different is the song’s narrator is basically giving himself over to the object of his affection.

Secrets I have held in my heart
Are harder to hide than I thought
Maybe I just wanna be yours
I wanna be yours
I wanna be yours 
You call the shots babe
I just wanna be yours

It’s not exactly the sentiment that functioning real-world relationships are made of, but it sure is sweet.  In Say Anything, when Lloyd and Diane get back together at the end he says:

One question: are you here ’cause you need someone, or ’cause you need me?… Forget it, I don’t care.

What makes this song and Lloyd Dobler so sweet is that so many people feel this way, but hardly anyone has the bravery to say it forthright. That kind of brazen honesty is shocking and often can seem desperate or overbearing but in these cases it comes from a sweet place of refreshing candour and devotion.

About preetybird

Just another run-of-the-mill mysterious microcosm of magic, music, merriment and malevolence.
This entry was posted in indie rock, pop and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

