It’s hot, this is boring & I miss you

I’ve always thought the term dog days of summer was so weird.  I always thought it meant when it was too hot to do anything but daydream and be lazy but it actually refers to the brightest star in the heavens, Sirius also know as the Dog Star ( and no, I’m not referring to Keanu Reeves’ band). It actually doesn’t make sense, really if any species gets especially lazy in the heat it’s cats.

This last week has dragged on for an eternity.  Maybe it’s because I’m finally finished with all my summer trips. Maybe it’s because I’m working an office job that takes up almost 2/3 of my day.  Maybe it’s because I’m not sleeping and my cat’s ignoring me.  But really it’s because he’s still out of town, and has been for 8 weeks now.  I’ve been to visit him.  We FaceTime; SnapChat and Skype often.  But it’s all lost its lustre.  Skype dates are not as fun as real dates. Snap Chats can only take you so far.  There’s nothing as depressing as leaving another fake singsongy voicemail about how you’re sorry you didn’t connect today but maybe tomorrow while your cat just stares at you silently judging your pathetic ruse.

There’s lightbulbs that need to be changed that are too high for me to reach.  Nobody has put any air in my tires or washed my windshield for over two months.  Nobody has yelled at my mom for me.

Missed connections are just part of the ebb and flow of trying to make it work.  But the more that are missed, the bigger the ball of annoyance in my stomach become and the louder the catty and insecure voices in my head become.  Until the ball becomes a crater and the voices become my own and I don’t know what I’m doing or saying or why anyone would put up with a raging psycho-bitch like me.

So in an effort to curb my impeding psychosis, I’ve created this playlist. For when you’re feeling lazy and tired and can’t sleep but can’t move so all you can do is listen and daydream and count the days until it’s finally time for the next chapter to begin.

About preetybird

Just another run-of-the-mill mysterious microcosm of magic, music, merriment and malevolence.
This entry was posted in folk, indie rock, pop and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

