T Swift Slays Cover of Vance Joy’s “Riptide”

There’s not much I love more than a good cover and the Live Lounge at BBC Radio is the best place to hear the best covers by the best artists.  My all-time favourite is still the Stereophonics cover of Sinead O’Conor’s Nothing Compares 2 U, which still makes me tear up every time it comes up on my iTunes shuffle.

So I was pretty excited when I heard Taylor Swift, the Queen of Girl-fessional Music, was going to hit the Live Lounge on her promotional tour.  I wast sure what she was going to cover but I was pleasantly surprised to hear she picked Vance Joy’s Riptide.  Not only will Joy’s original get a well-deserved boost in sales and recognition, but Taylor once again will enjoy a chorus of head nods from cooler-than-thou music heads who must once again, begrudgingly admit that she slays basically every song she touches.

Riptide is a song I’ve heard probably a few dozen times; I’ve probably sang along to the lyrics a few times as well.  But it wasn’t until I heard this sweet, emotionally-charged cover that I really listened to the lyrics.

There’s something about the clear and open way Taylor interprets the song that really made me stop and listen whole-heartedly to what the song is about. I can see why she chose to cover it; it’s basically the guy’s version of “You Belong With Me,” but with added indie cred.

I like it a lot and can’t wait to hear what her new CD 1989 sounds like when it comes out next Tuesday.

About preetybird

Just another run-of-the-mill mysterious microcosm of magic, music, merriment and malevolence.
This entry was posted in pop and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

