Are We in the Clear Yet, Good!

Technically, I guess you could call me a Swiftie.  I love me some Taylor Swift.  I own all her music. I know all the lyrics and can’t help but relish every tidbit about her musical prowess and famous fans with searing envy.  The greatest writers are the ones that make the ordinary extraordinary and that’s what Taylor does so effortlessly.  Her lyrics are simple but steeped in a commonality that touches even the most cynical and disassociated.

She wrote Out of the Woods, with Jack Antonoff, of Fun, the Bleachers, and being Lena Dunham‘s boyfriend fame.  As soon as I heard the beat, I knew it was going to be one of my favourites off 1989 and two weeks later it is definitely one of my top three songs on the CD (for the record, I also love Blank Space, Bad Blood and Wildest Dreams).

What I like most about this song is that it reminds me of the beginning of a relationship, when everything seems to happen either in slow motion or a faster than you can compute; when insignificant things seem so poignant and telling.  But as the relationship grows those moments just become a part of life and you barely register the way he holds his nose when he downs his dandelion shot every morning – something you swore was the most precious thing you had ever seen when you first witnessed the sacred ritual.

You took a Polaroid of us
Then discovered 
The rest of the world was black and white
But we were in screaming colour

There’s pros and cons to being out of the woods.  Obviously a pro is that both people know each other better; like each other still; feel comfortable with each other and want to pursue the relationship further.  All great things.  That’s not to say there’s not some great things about being in the woods.  Everything is new, unknown, exciting and dramatic.   The anticipation of every step is like an aphrodisiac.

Looking at it now
Last December 
We were built to fall apart
Then fall back together. 

I’m a bit too old for the drama of those tears and tantrum type relationships.  But I am emotionally-stunted and Indian so I do have a deep appreciate for the theatrics of relationships.  I often look on in envy when I see those couples having shouting whisper fights in the streets on a Saturday night.  I can’t yell at anyone to save my life but I wish I could.   I wish I could throw a drink in someone’s face.  I wish I could write a clever song about my ex and have half the world know all the lyrics in two weeks.  But that’s not me.

So I choose to live vicariously through Taylor Swift and remember what’s it’s like to be young and dating and consumed with your social life not your calorie intake; your RRSPs and your parents’ deteriorating health.

Remember when we couldn’t take the heat
I walked out and said, “I’m settin’ you free,”
But the monsters turned out to be just trees
And when the sun came up, you were lookin’ at me. 

About preetybird

Just another run-of-the-mill mysterious microcosm of magic, music, merriment and malevolence.
This entry was posted in pop, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

