Gotta Kiss Myself I’m So Pretty

I can not explain with mere words just how many feels this song gives me.  It is called Uptown Funk and is by Mark Ronson featuring Bruno Mars. It’s the lead single from Mark’s much-anticipated fourth studio album.

It’s heavily inspired by James Brown and Motown and begs for listeners to indulge in a little of what I like to call Cosby dancing.

ilehdfi Although I guess it’s better known as stank-face dancing.  Whatever you call it, this song makes me want to move.  It’s delicious and indulgent and oh so infectious.

I’ve been a big fan of Mark Ronson since Version came out in 2007.  I loved every song on that CD and still listen to Valerie and Just at least once a week.  Bruno Mars is the perfect person to sing a song like this.  He has a beautiful voice and the old school vibe and bravado that’s needed to pull off a song with this much spirit.

If you ever have the chance to see Bruno Mars live, I highly recommend  you do it.  I saw him almost a year ago and still think about that concert often.  Although to be honest, it’s mostly because I remember dancing around with one hand on my top because I was really worried that my boobs were going to pop out.

As much as Uptown Funk has an undeniable old school vibe, the lyrics are so cute and current.

Livin’ it up in the city
Got Chucks on with Saint Laurent
Got kiss myself I’m so pretty 

This is so funny to me and oh so #Normcore. I also love the lyric below.

If we show up, we gon’ show out
Smoother than a fresh jar of skippy

Come on, there’s nothing smoother than skippy!

If you sexy than flaunt it
If you freaky than own it
Don’t brag about it, come show me

This is where your Bill Cosby dancing skills must be revealed. Bruno Mars crones it so.

I don’t have much else to say about this song, except I love and you’re welcome!

If you’re as into this song as I am, catch Mark Ronson and Bruno Mars perform it live on Saturday Night Live on November 22.

About preetybird

Just another run-of-the-mill mysterious microcosm of magic, music, merriment and malevolence.
This entry was posted in dance, R&B Soul and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

